3 Townships and 5 School Districts in Monmouth, Morris and Ocean Counties Matched with Environmental Defense Fund Fellows

on May 04, 2016

EDF Fellows to assist with advanced sustainable energy projects

Today, Sustainable Jersey announced the three townships and five school districts that will receive an Environmental Defense Fund (EDF) Fellow to provide on-site technical assistance with advanced sustainable energy projects. This technical assistance program has been made possible through funding provided by New Jersey Natural Gas.

“We are proud to partner with Sustainable Jersey and work together toward a common good, connecting communities with the resources they need to make wise energy choices,” said Anne-Marie Peracchio, director of Conservation and Clean Energy Policy for New Jersey Natural Gas. “This unique opportunity helps the host township and school districts bridge the gap between available resources and energy-efficiency initiatives. We hope they will leverage insights gained from the process into guidance that will enhance Sustainable Jersey and Sustainable Jersey for Schools action items for other communities to follow.”

Through the EDF Climate Corps fellowship program, Sustainable Jersey is pairing three specially trained fellows, typically MBA or similar graduates, with three townships and five school districts to provide expertise and support for evaluation, planning and implementation of projects that will help improve the energy performance of their respective buildings. The EDF Fellows will begin work with township and school district staff in June 2016.

The three townships and five school districts that were awarded an EDF Fellow submitted an application that was reviewed by Sustainable Jersey. “Supporting communities with technical expertise to do sustainable energy projects is an important step toward our goal of a sustainable New Jersey,” said Sustainable Jersey Co-Director Donna Drewes. “This assistance will result in lower energy costs and a reduced carbon footprint for each district and its schools.”


Morris County
• Boonton Township
• Boonton Township Board of Education-Rockaway Valley School
• Mine Hill Board of Education

Monmouth County
• Howell Township
• Howell Township Board of Education

Ocean County
• Brick Township Board of Education
• Manchester Township
• Toms River Township

  • Media Releases
  • Home Page News