Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees

The Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees oversees the work of the non-profit organization Sustainable Jersey which includes the municipal Sustainable Jersey certification program and the Sustainable Jersey for Schools certification program.


Executive Committee

Gary Sondermeyer

Vice President of Operations, Bayshore Recycling

Carolyn Brown-Dancy
Director, Environmental Health & Safety-Sustainability, Atlantic Health System

Wanda Monahan, Esq.

Owner & Managing Member, Law Offices of Wanda Chin Monahan, LLC




Caroline Ehrlich
Certification Standards Committee Chair
Chief of Staff, Woodbridge Township (Middlesex County)

Dr. Lisa Jiampetti
Mayor, Egg Harbor City (Atlantic County)

Giuseppe (Joe) Grillo
Development Committee Chair
Member, Asbury Park Board of Education & Asbury Park Green Team


Edward Mahaney, Jr., Ed.D.
Trustee Emerita
Mahaney Consulting, LLC

Lori Matheus
Senior Vice President, New Jersey Economic Development Authority

Marissa C. McKenzie
School Business Administrator, East Orange School District


Timothy McDonough
Mayor, Hope Township (Warren County)

Tony Perry
Mayor, Middletown Township
(Monmouth County)

Edward Potosnak III
Governance Committee Chair
Executive Director, New Jersey League of Conservation Voters


Michael Salvatore, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President of Administration, Kean University

Michael Schmid, P.E. 
Trustee Emerita
Vice President, Asset Management and Planning, PSE&G

Paola Toro, Esq.
Associate, Bressler, Amery & Ross, P.C.


Terence Wall
Township Administrator, Jackson Township
(Ocean County)

Paul Williams
Board of Education, Harmony Township
(Warren County)




Ex Officio

Paul Baldauf
Assistant Commissioner, Air Quality, Energy and Sustainability, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Mike Cerra
Executive Director, New Jersey League of Municipalities

Dr. Timothy Purnell
Executive Director, New Jersey School Boards Association