About Certification

Municipalities can work toward two levels of certification: Bronze and Silver.  Bronze certification means a municipality has made a commitment to sustainability and succeeded in implementing significant first steps, while silver certification means a municipality has made significant progress in a number of categories toward sustainability and is a state-wide and national leader.


Bronze Certification

Silver Certification

  • Green Team

  • 150 points

  •  2 out of 11 priority actions

  • 6 out of 17 categories

  • Green Team

  • 350 points

  • 3 out of 11 priority actions

  • 8 out of 17 categories

  • Certification is good to December 31st of the 3rd year following Certification

  • Communities may recertify during any program year prior to their certification expiring

  • Communities that were previously certified Bronze or Silver may certify at either level


Each level of certification requires the establishment of a mandatory Green Team.  Municipalities accumulate points for taking actions in a variety of categories in the respective certification level.  Along with attaining a certain number of points, a number of “priority actions” must be completed in order to qualify for certification.  The associated number of points, priority actions, and actions taken within a certain number of categories for bronze and silver certification listed above must be met. 

There are a variety of actions municipalities can take to become more green and sustainable to earn certification with Sustainable Jersey.  As indicated, priority actions must be completed, and can be chosen from the following actions:

  • Energy Tracking & Management (Formerly Energy STAR Portfolio Manager)
  • Inventory & Upgrade All Buildings
  • Green Business Recognition Program
  • Fleet Inventory
  • Climate Adaptation: Flooding Risk
  • Municipal Carbon Footprint
  • Sustainable Land Use Pledge
  • Natural Resource Inventory
  • Water Conservation Ordinance
  • Prescription Drug Safety and Disposal
  • Diversity on Boards & Commissions

All actions taken by municipalities to score points toward certification must be accompanied by documentary evidence and will be reviewed by the project partners. Only efforts that meet the standards described in the actions will be accepted and counted toward certification.  To further fulfill the requirements of completing actions in either a minimum of 6 or 8 categories (depending on the level of certification), municipalities can choose from over 125 actions.  These actions include ordinances, programs, policies and procedures, and facility improvements.  To assist municipalities in their efforts toward certification, each action has detailed resources and step by step “how to” directions for completing the action. 

Once your municipality is certified, the certification is good for 3 program years, at which time your municipality will need to recertify.  However, a municipality may recertify at any point prior to this third year. Furthermore, a certified municipality is able to recertify at either level and does not need to advance to, or retain Silver certification.