20 More Towns Achieve Sustainable Jersey ® 2011 Certification

on Nov 03, 2011

Trenton, NJ (November 3, 2011) – Sustainable Jersey released today the list of 20 new towns that achieved Sustainable Jersey certification in 2011. Six communities raised the bar by meeting the Silver Level of certification that requires the completion of more sustainable actions in the program. Currently 350 or 62 percent of New Jersey towns have registered with the program and are pursuing the certification.

With the addition of the 2011 certified towns, there are a total of 96 Sustainable Jersey certified municipalities. The program is voluntary and each town has to meet and document their achievement of the actions. Typically a town will select 10-12 actions from a potential list of over 117 actions that include areas such as a commitment to environmental stewardship, community gardens, supporting local businesses, conservation of energy and water and waste reduction and recycling.

The 2011 Sustainable Jersey SILVER Level Certified Communities are as follows:
1. Bernards, Somerset County
2. Cape May, Cape May County
3. Cherry Hill, Camden County
4. Jersey City, Hudson County
5. Summit, Union County
6. Woodbridge, Middlesex County

The 2011 Sustainable Jersey BRONZE Level Certified Communities are as follows:
1. City of Orange, Essex County
2. Flemington, Hunterdon County
3. Gloucester Township, Camden County
4. Haddon, Camden County
5. Hanover, Morris County
6. Hoboken, Hudson County
7. Lawrence, Mercer County
8. Linwood, Atlantic County
9. Long Branch, Monmouth County
10. Monmouth Beach, Monmouth County
11. Oakland, Bergen County
12. Raritan, Hunterdon
13. Tenafly, Bergen County
14. Washington Township, Morris County

“Today, becoming a sustainable town is simply good government,” said Pam Mount, Chair of the Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees. “There are real financial benefits from implementing practices that lead to cost savings in energy, water and garbage bills.”

The certified towns will be recognized at the annual Sustainable Jersey awards luncheon on Tuesday, November 15 at the New Jersey League of Municipalities’ conference. In addition to the award presentations at the luncheon, key note speakers will include James Florio, the former New Jersey Governor and Trustee of the Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees and project partners Joseph Fiordaliso, Commissioner of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities and Michele Siekerka, Assistant Commissioner, Economic Growth and Green Energy, at the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection.

3rd Annual Sustainable Jersey Awards Luncheon: Tuesday, November 15, 2011
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
12 noon to 1:30 pm (Doors open at 11:30 am)
For more info on the luncheon, click here.

For full press release, click here.

  • Media Releases