Event Advisory: 2019 NJ Sustainability Summit on June 14

on Jun 05, 2019

Change-makers across political, private and public sectors will gather to shape course for a sustainable NJ

The 2019 New Jersey Sustainability Summit is a unique and inspiring one-day event that will bring together over 400 diverse participants from across New Jersey and more than 50 experts and practitioners to discuss sustainability trends, analyze innovative approaches for solving our most critical problems and spark lasting partnerships. The 2019 Sustainability Summit will be bigger and better than ever; Sustainable Jersey is celebrating its 10th Anniversary and will be spotlighting the many individuals, organizations, businesses and agencies that have contributed to its progress. A total of 12 sustainability sessions are offered with topics ranging from community solar and electric vehicles and solutions to today’s recycling crisis to sustainable practices in schools and addressing public health at the community level.

Registration Link: bit.ly/SustainabilitySummit19 

Follow the Sustainability Summit on Social Media: #SustainableStateNJ and #NJSustainabilitySummit #DecadeofImpact   

WHEN:   8:00 am - 4:00 pm: Friday, June 14, 2019

WHERE: Bell Works, 101 Crawfords Corner Road, Holmdel, New Jersey 07733; Directions

PROGRAM: Opening Discussion: The Next 10 Years; 12 Sustainability Sessions; Sustainability Exhibit with over 55 businesses, organizations and agencies; Electric Vehicle Drive and Ride; E-Scooter Demonstration and Post Summit Happy Hour at Bell Market (cash bar). Agenda

Featured speakers include:

  • American Planning Association: Charles Latini, Jr., President, NJ Chapter

  • Atlantic-Cape May Regional Hub: Ralph Cooper, Co-Chair

  • Bayshore Recycling: Gary Sondermeyer, Vice President

  • Clean Communities: Rachel Barton, Burlington County Coordinator

  • Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation: Margaret Waldock, Environment Program Director

  • Borough of Eatontown: Mayor Anthony Talerico, Jr.

  • Borough of Fanwood: Mayor Colleen Mahr

  • Glen Rock Borough: Councilmember Arati Kreibich

  • Borough of High Bridge: Mayor Michele Lee

  • Holmdel Township: Victor Stevens, Director of Infrastructure & Operations and Janet Jackel, Green Team Member

  • City of Lambertville: Alex Torpey, Borough Administrator

  • Lawrence Township: Mayor Christopher Bobbitt

  • Long Branch School District: Dr. Michael Salvatore, Superintendent

  • New Jersey Board of Public Utilities: Jim Ferris, Bureau Chief for New Technology, Clean Energy Division; Cathleen Lewis, Outreach Specialist, Ombudsman’s Office, Office of Clean Energy; Mike Thulen, ESIP Coordinator

  • New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection: Catherine R. McCabe, Commissioner; Nick Angarone, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Climate Resilience Planning; Helaine Barr, Research Scientist, Bureau of Energy & Sustainability; Jen Feltis Cortese, Regional Environmental Planner, Division of Water Monitoring & Standards; Emily DeMaio, Environmental Specialist, Bureau of Energy & Sustainability; Andrea Friedman, Supervisor of Electric Vehicles Program, Bureau of Mobile Sources; Gina Gambacorto, Environmental Specialist, Bureau of Energy & Sustainability; Ryan Gergely, Bureau of Energy & Sustainability

  • New Jersey Education Association: Sean Spiller, Vice President,

  • New Jersey League of Municipalities: Michael Darcy, Executive Director

  • New Jersey Natural Gas: Anne-Marie Peracchio, Director, Conservation and Clean Energy Policy

  • New Jersey School Boards Association: Dr. Larry Feinsod, Executive Director

  • City of Newark: Nathaly Agosto-Filion, Sustainability Officer

  • City of Perth Amboy: Maximo Vazquez, Program Coordinator

  • Princeton Board of Health: George DiFerdinando, Director

  • Readington Township School District: Jodi Bettermann, Energy Efficiency Coordinator and Kristen Higgins, Principal, Three Bridges School, Readington Township School District

  • Ridgefield Park Green Team: Mark Olson, Chair

  • Rowan University: Dr. John Hasse, AICP, Director of GeoLab, The School of Earth and Environment

  • Sustainable CT: Lynn Stoddard, Executive Director

  • Sustainable Jersey: Randall Solomon, Executive Director; Anne Heasly, AICP, Program Manager of Policy and Planning; Melanie Hughes McDermott, Senior Researcher; Lauren Skowronski, Program Director of Community Engagement; Kaitlyn Vollmer, Grants Program Coordinator; Samantha McGraw, Program Manager

  • Sustainable Princeton: Jenny Ludmer, Community Outreach Manager and Christine Symington, Program Director

  • Trenton Health Team: Elena Cromeyer, Transforming Communities Initiative Program Director

  • Van Cleef Engineering Associates, LLC: Angela Knowles, AICP, Planner

  • Waterford Township: Mayor William Richardson, Jr.

  • The Watershed Institute: Jim Waltman, Executive Director

10TH ANNIVERSARY SPONSORS: Program underwriters include the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation and the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities Clean Energy Program. Platinum sponsors are PSE&G, South Jersey Gas and New Jersey Natural Gas. Silver Sponsors are NJM Insurance Group, Bayshore Recycling, Elizabethtown Gas, New Jersey American Water, Jersey Central Power and Light, Atlantic Health System and Northfield Bank.

SUMMIT PARTNERS: Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions, American Planning Association New Jersey Chapter, ChargEVC, Clean Ocean Action, Creative NJ, Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission, HealthCare Institute of New Jersey, New Jersey Clean Cities Coalition, New Jersey Future, New Jersey  Healthy Communities Network, New Jersey League of Municipalities, New Jersey Prevention Network, New Jersey School Boards Association, Rutgers Environmental Stewards and The College of New Jersey.

  • Media Releases
  • Home Page News