2017 NJ Sustainability Summit to Focus on Local Action = Collective Impact

on Jun 07, 2017

Change-makers across the political, private and public sectors take stock together on a path for a sustainable NJ

WHAT: One-day sustainability summit with over 300 diverse participants from across New Jersey and more than 50 experts and practitioners. The event will kick-off with a keynote address by Chris Daggett, President and CEO of the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation. A total of 12 concurrent sessions are offered with topics ranging from “promoting a clean energy future at the local level” and “protecting our natural resources, local action/regional impact” to “strengthening leadership at the local level” and “waste not, recycle more.” We have thoughtfully curated this year’s agenda to address issues and showcase the innovative solutions that are most relevant in 2017 against a backdrop of an increasingly complex national landscape. Event sponsors are Investors Bank, Good Energy and Church & Dwight. Register: http://bit.ly/2017SustainabilitySummit   #SustainableStateNJ  

WHEN: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm, Wednesday, June 21, 2017

WHERE: The College of New Jersey, Music Building, 2000 Pennington Road, Ewing, NJ 08618; Directions


Key note address, 12 concurrent sessions and open discussions with attendees. Speakers include (partial listing):

  • KEY NOTE SPEAKER: Chris Daggett, President and CEO of the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation
  • Atlantic County Utilities Authority: Richard Dovey, President
  • Sustainable Jersey: Randall Solomon, Executive Director
  • Association of NJ Environmental Commissions: Julie Lange-Groth, Media Director
  • Bayshore Recycling: Gary Sondermeyer, Vice President of Operations
  • Cross County Connection: Ronda Urkowitz, Director
  • Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission: Liz Compitello, Senior Research Analyst
  • Foundation for Educational Administration: Mary M. Reece, Director of Special Projects
  • Fund for New Jersey: Laura Mandell, Chair Warren Township Green Team and Office Manager
  • iWasteNot Systems: Norm Ruttan, President
  • Land Conservancy of NJ: Christi Kobus Rokicki, Vice President Development & Communications
  • Lead NJ: Jen Bredehoft, Vice President of Recruitment, Alumni Relations & Communications
  • National Consortium for Creative Placemaking: Leonardo Vazquez, Executive Director
  • NJ Arts Education Partnership: Kira Campo, Program Development Manager
  • NJ Prevention Network: Diane Litterer, CEO & Executive Director
  • NJ Board of Public Utilities: Gary Finger, Business Ombudsman; Mike Thulen, ESIP Coordinator, Division of Economic Development & Energy Policy
  • NJ Clean Cities Coalition: Chuck Feinberg, Chairman and Executive Vice President, Greener By Design
  • NJ Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Energy & Sustainability: Athena Sarafides, Sustainability Team Lead; Helaine Barr, Research Scientist; Ryan Gergely, Research Scientist; Brittany Pfeiffer, Environmental Specialist; NJDEP Office of Water Resource Management Coordination: Jennifer Feltis-Cortese, AICP
  • NJ Future: Jane Rosenblatt, Program Manager
  • NJ Harbor & Estuary Program at Hudson River Foundation: Rob Pirani, Program Director, NY
  • Project for Public Spaces: Laura Torchio, Deputy Director of Transportation Initiatives
  • Rutgers Cooperative Extension Water Resources Program: Christopher Obropta, Associate Extension Specialist in Water Resources
  • Rutgers University, Alan M. Voorhees Transportation Center: Leigh Ann Von Hagen, Senior Research Manager
  • Stony Brook Millstone Watershed Association: Brittany Musolino, River Friendly Coordinator
  • Sustainable Princeton: Christine Symington, Program Director
  • Young Audiences New Jersey & Eastern Pennsylvania: Michele Russo, President & CEO


  • Media Releases
  • Home Page News