Sustainable Jersey to Honor Top Municipal Champions

on Jan 15, 2013

Trenton, NJ – On January 29, 2013, Sustainable Jersey will present awards to six of New Jersey’s outstanding municipalities in a ceremony open to the public at the Forsgate Country Club.  In addition to the special award winners, forty-one municipalities will be recognized for achieving Sustainable Jersey certification in 2012.  In 2012, $200,000 was awarded through the Sustainable Jersey Small Grants program funded by the PSEG Foundation.  At the awards ceremony, thirty-two local governments will be on hand to officially accept the green grants for community-based sustainability projects.

Event tickets are available to the public through the Sustainable Jersey website. The event includes two expert panels, a networking reception and the official ceremony to recognize outstanding communities.  Event speakers are leaders from the NJ Department of Environmental Protection, NJ Board of Public Utilities, Atlantic County Utilities Authority, NJ Natural Gas, PSEG, the Sustainable Jersey Board of Trustees and the NJ League of Municipalities.  Before the networking session, there will be two expert panels. The first panel will feature officials from municipalities that received funding through the Sustainable Jersey grant program who will talk about their challenges and successes.  The second panel will feature mayors from the special award winning towns.


The Sustainability Champion award recognizes municipalities that have scored the most points in the Sustainable Jersey certification program in three population categories. The 2012 Sustainability Champion award winners are:


  • SUSTAINABILITY CHAMPION (LARGE) with 765 points: Woodbridge Township (Middlesex County)
  • SUSTAINABILITY CHAMPION (MEDIUM) with 410 points: Chatham Borough (Morris County)
  • SUSTAINABILITY CHAMPION (SMALL) with 530 points: Cape May City (Cape May County)


The 2012 Sustainable Jersey special award winners are:


  • LEADERSHIP AWARD:                               Gloucester Township (Camden County)
  • INNOVATION AND CREATIVITY AWARD:        Harrington Park Borough (Bergen County)
  • COLLABORATION AWARD:                        City of Camden (Camden County)

For the fourth year in a row, the Sustainability Champion award winner in the large municipality category is Woodbridge Township.  The township was certified with a record high of 765 Sustainable Jersey points. Woodbridge Mayor John E. McCormac said, “In the quest for our fourth Sustainable Jersey Champion Award, Woodbridge Township, through the Greenable Woodbridge program, continued to implement new and innovative sustainable initiatives, including a $7 million project to install energy-producing solar panels on municipal buildings; start-up of a Green Business and Technology Center; creation of a ‘green’ business recognition program; automated trash collection and single-stream recycling; implementation of energy-saving audits at municipal buildings and facilities; integration of fuel efficient hybrid vehicles into the municipal fleet; and the designation of Woodbridge as a Mayor’s Wellness community, among many other initiatives.”

The Sustainability Champion winner in the small municipality category is Cape May.  Dr. Edward J. Mahaney, Jr., Mayor, City of Cape May said, “Through our involvement with the Sustainable Jersey program, the City of Cape May has intertwined our long-range planning agenda with our long-term financial  and capital planning program to create a comprehensive and systematic sustainability approach for our City over the next two decades.”


Date: Tuesday, January 29, 2012

Location: Forsgate Country Club; 375 Forsgate Drive, Monroe Township, NJ 08831

Schedule: Expert Panel Sessions (2-5:00 pm); Networking Reception (5-6:30 pm), Recognition Ceremony (6:30-7:30 pm)

Cost/Registration: $35/Municipal and Green Team Members, $75 other attendees.  Register here.



Sustainability Champion Award

This award recognizes municipalities that have scored the most points in the Sustainable Jersey certification program in three population categories: small (0-4,999), medium (5,000-39,999) and large (40,000+).

Leadership Award

This award recognizes one municipality that contributes most to the Sustainable Jersey program through demonstrated regional or statewide leadership. This award recognizes sustainability efforts that make the most of local resources through exceptional dedication and leadership.

Innovation and Creativity Award

This award recognizes one municipality that contributes most to Sustainable Jersey by pioneering or testing a significant innovation. The award recognizes creativity, originality, and forward-thinking that can lead to new best practices and strategies by which we pursue sustainability.

Collaboration Award

This award recognizes municipalities that worked together or a municipality that partners with other organizations to implement a program or project. This award recognizes that many sustainability issues must be addressed on a regional scale or require the pooled resources of more than one partner.  


  • Media Releases
  • Home Page News