Mayor Art Ondish Leadership Award

This award is given annually by Sustainable Jersey in  memory of Mayor Arthur Ondish of Mount Arlington. He was a true leader and an original member of the visionary mayors who founded the Sustainable Jersey program. He was a key thinker and doer during the growth of the Sustainable Jersey movement. In the early days, he spent countless hours meeting with local officials to promote Sustainable Jersey and was instrumental in the program's acceptance in rural parts of New Jersey. 

The award recognizes the leader of a model Sustainable Jersey town, providing ideas, policy support, and the necessary resources for their green team to achieve significant success towards sustainability at the local level and statewide.

2018: Mayor Bruce J. Packer, Glen Rock Borough

Mayor Packer makes sustainability a priority for Glen Rock and together with a very active green team, Mayor Packer encourages residents to live in a sustainable manner through innovative initiatives such as local campaigns to reduce the use of single-use plastics bags and Styrofoam, renewable government energy aggregation, and encouraging the use of electric vehicles. Mayor Packer was one of 12 New Jersey mayors that publicly committed to collaborate with Sustainable Jersey and make a significant effort to achieve the Gold Star Standard in Energy at the New Jersey Mayors’ Climate Summit this year. Mayor Packer also leads a Mayor Wellness Campaign with a “Walk with the Mayor” program.

2017: Mayor Bruce Harris, Chatham Borough

Mayor Bruce Harris has made sustainability a priority for Chatham Borough for many years.  The Borough, a two time winner of the Sustainability Champion Award, is focused on encouraging residents to live in a sustainable manner.

2016: Caroline Ehrlich, Woodbridge

This year Sustainable Jersey renamed the Leadership Award to recognize our friend Mayor Art Ondish; he was a true leader and an original member of the visionary mayors who founded the Sustainable Jersey program.  Caroline Ehrlich, serves as treasurer on the Sustainable Jersey Board and is the chief of staff to Woodbridge Township Mayor John E. McCormac and executive director of the Woodbridge Township Redevelopment Agency. Caroline Ehrlich leads the Sustainable Jersey Certification Standards Committee, and she spearheaded efforts to designate Woodbridge Township a Sustainable Jersey community and was instrumental in creating the Greenable Woodbridge program. Under Caroline Ehrlich’s leadership, Woodbridge Township received a 3-STAR Community Rating for national leadership in sustainability—a designation that places Woodbridge among the top sustainable cities and communities in the nation. Woodbridge Township has received the Sustainable Jersey Sustainable Champion award seven times for achieving the most certification points and has been certified at the silver-level certification for seven years.